MASTER

Local Roots Food Tours
Event Location
Contact
Contact Local Roots Food Tours

Origins of Sacramento Walking Food Tour

92 dates from March 3 2012 - December 22 2012
Cafe Bernardo's Midtown, 2726 Capitol Avenue, Sacramento, CA 95814
Show more event details Hide event details
    • Mar 03
    • Saturday, March 3, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Mar 10
    • Saturday, March 10, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Mar 16
    • Friday, March 16, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Mar 17
    • Saturday, March 17, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Mar 24
    • Saturday, March 24, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Mar 31
    • Saturday, March 31, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Apr 04
    • Wednesday, April 4, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Apr 07
    • Saturday, April 7, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Apr 11
    • Wednesday, April 11, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Apr 13
    • Friday, April 13, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Apr 18
    • Wednesday, April 18, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM
  • to
    • May 31
    • Thursday, May 31, 2012,
    • 2:00 PM
View
    • Apr 20
    • Friday, April 20, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Apr 25
    • Wednesday, April 25, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Apr 27
    • Friday, April 27, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Apr 28
    • Saturday, April 28, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • May 02
    • Wednesday, May 2, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • May 04
    • Friday, May 4, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • May 05
    • Saturday, May 5, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • May 09
    • Wednesday, May 9, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • May 11
    • Friday, May 11, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • May 12
    • Saturday, May 12, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • May 16
    • Wednesday, May 16, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • May 18
    • Friday, May 18, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • May 19
    • Saturday, May 19, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • May 23
    • Wednesday, May 23, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • May 25
    • Friday, May 25, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • May 26
    • Saturday, May 26, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Jun 02
    • Saturday, June 2, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Jun 06
    • Wednesday, June 6, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Jun 08
    • Friday, June 8, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Jun 09
    • Saturday, June 9, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Jun 15
    • Friday, June 15, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Jun 16
    • Saturday, June 16, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Jun 20
    • Wednesday, June 20, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Jun 22
    • Friday, June 22, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Jun 23
    • Saturday, June 23, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Jun 27
    • Wednesday, June 27, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Jun 29
    • Friday, June 29, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Jun 30
    • Saturday, June 30, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Jul 06
    • Friday, July 6, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Jul 07
    • Saturday, July 7, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Jul 11
    • Wednesday, July 11, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Jul 13
    • Friday, July 13, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Jul 14
    • Saturday, July 14, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Jul 17
    • Tuesday, July 17, 2012,
    • 2:00 PM - 5:00 PM
View
    • Jul 20
    • Friday, July 20, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Jul 25
    • Wednesday, July 25, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Jul 27
    • Friday, July 27, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Jul 28
    • Saturday, July 28, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Aug 01
    • Wednesday, August 1, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Aug 04
    • Saturday, August 4, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Aug 08
    • Wednesday, August 8, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Aug 10
    • Friday, August 10, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Aug 11
    • Saturday, August 11, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Aug 15
    • Wednesday, August 15, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Aug 17
    • Friday, August 17, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Aug 24
    • Friday, August 24, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Aug 25
    • Saturday, August 25, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Aug 29
    • Wednesday, August 29, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Sep 01
    • Saturday, September 1, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Sep 05
    • Wednesday, September 5, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Sep 07
    • Friday, September 7, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Sep 12
    • Wednesday, September 12, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Sep 14
    • Friday, September 14, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Sep 15
    • Saturday, September 15, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Sep 19
    • Wednesday, September 19, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Sep 22
    • Saturday, September 22, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Sep 28
    • Friday, September 28, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Sep 29
    • Saturday, September 29, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Oct 03
    • Wednesday, October 3, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Oct 05
    • Friday, October 5, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Oct 10
    • Wednesday, October 10, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Oct 17
    • Wednesday, October 17, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Oct 19
    • Friday, October 19, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Oct 20
    • Saturday, October 20, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Oct 27
    • Saturday, October 27, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Nov 02
    • Friday, November 2, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Nov 03
    • Saturday, November 3, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Nov 09
    • Friday, November 9, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Nov 10
    • Saturday, November 10, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Nov 28
    • Wednesday, November 28, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Nov 30
    • Friday, November 30, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Dec 01
    • Saturday, December 1, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Dec 05
    • Wednesday, December 5, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Dec 07
    • Friday, December 7, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Dec 08
    • Saturday, December 8, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Dec 12
    • Wednesday, December 12, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Dec 14
    • Friday, December 14, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Dec 15
    • Saturday, December 15, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Dec 19
    • Wednesday, December 19, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Dec 21
    • Friday, December 21, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View
    • Dec 22
    • Saturday, December 22, 2012,
    • 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
View

Description

The Origins of Sacramento Food and Cultural Walking Tour explores the very beginnings of Sacramento,from Sutter's colony Nueva Helvecia to the Fabulous Forties, with tastings of the best dishes the immigrants brought with them. You'll learn about how the many diverse groups forged our great city and created its agricultural dominance. Participants enjoy a 3.25 hour, 2.5 mile flat walking route past historical national landmarks, gorgeous mission style churches and famed architecture throughout period neighborhoods. Liberally sprinkled among these sites are mom and pop eateries that echo the region's diversity.

Our Origins of Sacramento Food Tour finds us meandering through two very historical but popular neighborhoods; Midtown's Sutters District and East Sacramento's Fabulous Forties. Stroll under tree-lined streets while you explore hidden gem eateries. Meet the talented and passionate chefs while sampling their creations a foodie's dream come true! Local Roots Food Tours limits each group to 16 individuals to keep the experience small and intimate; each tour is narrated by our trained guides. Our stops try to accommodate for vegetarians and food allergies; however, food aversions such as Vegan and Gluten Free are harder to accommodate for every stop.  No special accommodations will be made for participants who just don't like the type of food being offered - please see type of food samplings above for an idea of what will be offered.  Private group tours are available by reservation.

Typical tastings on our tour:

Amaretto Custard French Toast with local almonds
Freshly baked white chocolate and raspberry scone
Tequila infused cocktail with fresh strawberry/mango
Fresh catched talapia taco with tomatilla salsa
Baby spinach, artichokes, chicken & feta cheese pizza
Refreshing Pilsner Urquell from Czech Republic
Stuffed Date w/ goat cheese and pancetta
Pan seared scallop with sweet potato puree
Flaky crusted apple strudel w/fresh vanilla bean cream


Note: Please provide a local hotel or cell phone contact number on your reservation. The tours are held rain or shine. You should dress appropriately for the day's weather conditions. Cameras and video cameras are allowed. We ask everyone to turn their cell phones on vibrate prior to tour starting in respect of other tour participants wanting limited distractions. We require a minimum of 4 participants per tour. We will contact individuals prior to tour date if they are the single ticket holder for a particular tour.

Restrictions

The terrain on our Origins of Sacramento Food Tour is all flat with many shade trees. We do cover approximately 2.75 miles in distance in a 3.25 hour time frame. We do ask you keep up with the group during our entire 3.0 mile walk. You know your fitness level better than us. If you want to bring a child with you, please note that they are welcome but you know better than us if your child will be able to handle the distance walking as well as standing and listening without being disruptive to the rest of the tour group. Our tour route is wheelchair accessible. Strollers are welcome. Our stops try to accommodate for vegetarians and food allergies; however, food aversions such as Vegan and Gluten Free are harder to accommodate for every stop. No special accommodations will be made for participants who just don't like the type of food being offered - please see type of food samplings above for an idea of what will be offered.

Event Wall

Tell Everyone You Went!
Facebook Page Twitter Page